Why I Decided to Write a Book

Opening the Door to Major Gifts

At 52 years of age, I have wondered aloud why I waited until now to write my first book. I suppose the answer is that I have never seen a need for such an endeavor. My approach to work has always been practical, so it was not until I saw a problem that needed to be solved that I became motivated to write. I’ve seen way too many new development officers struggle to get appointments with new prospects. Once the relationship had been established, it wasn’t nearly as hard to continue cultivation and even ask for a gift, but hoo boy — that first meeting is a bear. Setting up and conducting the discovery call was easily my most difficult challenge when I started in major gifts fundraising 15 years ago.

“Opening the Door to Major Gifts: Mastering the Discovery Call” (April 2013) will make its debut from the publisher

View original post 145 more words

Published in: on May 9, 2013 at 2:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jjgcfre.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/why-i-decided-to-write-a-book-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

